Granpa son,son was di gaylis! Cudden fine a sweeta mout dan fi im
Speaking of shaping me as an adult... I watch alcohol ruin his life. It eventually shortened his life..and though I know alcohol can be taken in moderation without harm, I vowed neva to touch it seka how mi si how it do im
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sorry to hear bout you granny!
Mi have two out of four left.
Each one very different and taught me different things.
Paternal granny was the adventurer of the family. If there was a river she would float down it, if there was a lake she would swim across it. If there was a mountain she would climb it. Nothing would stop her. She teach me how to swim when mi was likkle.
She die on top of a mountain in the Himalayas from heart in her late 50s. I think she wanted to go that way.
Paternal grandfather was a gyaliss! All now mi have aunties that are younger than me from all the women he breed up. But the man had charisma!
Maternal grandfather was a merchant marine captain who sailed all over the world. Postcards he sent me from all over the world is what gave the the love for travel. He felt at home anywhere in the world and left me the same comfortable feeling.
Maternal granny is the problem solver in the family. She always seh, for every problem there is a solution. She grew up in the world war 2. Everything ever since has been easy for her! She has a heart of gold and mi neva meet one smaddy so selfless. Never heard the woman say a bad word about anyone.
Big up de grandparents!
You right when you seh is dem "BRUNG" wi. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Look at the dedication page .. then see her name in the fowl series. That's the yaad the chickens went to find cackroach </div></div>
Mi jus a re-read it
(You know Yaad Fowl remind me of one prolific Boardite)
awwwww Wendy!! so classic big pawty a gwannie when dem meet up.
One of my granparent is gone the Canadian one......suddenly too.....went to bed and just never woke up.....she was healthy as a horse was even still riding in her sixties. That was a shocker she died right beside my granpere he never even knew until he nudged her about sleeping in as she was an earlier riser.
She was firm and strict but now that am an adult I realized how much she loved me even though I didn't as a kid when I got licks with the wooden spoon....memories I grew up with the granperes.
Your grandad remind me of my Jamaican step grandad....says he was a gaylis when he was young an nutin doan pass him but says him ole now too bad I did not meet the jamaican granparents until my late teens.
Jamaican granmama remind me of myself....same so I hear music a belt out in halfwaythree and start dance in the plaza she do the same thing.....really spontaneous peeple say we mad when I first met her she said yes yu look like wi and am thinking I cannot see it.....then she says inna di batty
Nice read about your granparents Wendy......refreshing
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">One of my granparent is gone the Canadian one......suddenly too.....went to bed and just never woke up.....she was healthy as a horse was even still riding in her sixties. That was a shocker she died right beside my granpere he never even knew until he nudged her about sleeping in as she was an earlier riser.</div></div>
Really? Poor Granpere must have been in a state of shock.
Yuh still naah ress dat "haflwaythree" eeh?
Ok mi ago reveal seh mi spreadsheet not up to date? On who's side do you have Jamaican parentage?
Wendy my Paternal side is jamaican......never met the jamaicanside of family until my late teens. Actually.... my Canadian granpere remarried a year lata.....he is a realist he says death is final she not coming back so he getting on with his life.
My Mom used to give his wife attitude and dat lady doan care.....me think what bun the Canadian side is because she is a lady of colour (sometime I have to wonder bout my Mom) a mean my Dad was black them think say she will get wot dem wudda did get....sweet me iiesi....plus she is twelve years younger she and I are tight....but then I am the outcast in the Canadian side a family. Star wid the jammie side
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.